My inspiration

I have a couple of sources of inspiration – the first is the superhero genre – as long as I have been able to read thesecomics have fascinated me. Before that I watched spider-man on out 12 inch B+W television. I think I was 7 or 8 before I knew what colour spider man was – I used to draw him in brown and purple!

The cover to Tales of Action 2

The other things I loved were war comics – ‘Action’ and Commando’. These black and white comic books were packed with short (often only 4 page) stories. I was born in 1968 so WW2 was still well remembered and Korea was even more current though the latter never made much impact on me as a child.

It seems to me that the concept of superheroes in the war remains a fertile field – there is Captain America, the original Human Torch, the Submariner, Wonder Woman and Old Superman but I’d like to have another go at this genre – create something that shows the non-combat side of the war as well and something that has more female characters.

More coming soon…

 

 

Leave a Reply

